Tags

, ,


D sent my way a deliciously different tag… and here is my take on it…

But first the rules

Five memorable meals ever eaten: It could be anything that makes the meal memorable – the food, the place, the place you were in your life when you ate, the company, the weather, the ambiance – heck, the guy who served the food!”.

Considering the fact that food is a major part of my life both eating and cooking it was a delightful tag to do, the only difficulty was to choose which ones come here… but here is my attempt

Maa ke haath ka khaana: Like I mentioned in my previous post nothing beats maa ke haath ka khaana… specially when u are coming home… ever since I have moved to Bangalore about 8 years back (yes I know I wrongly mentioned 6 yrs in my last post, thanks Puneet for correcting that)… every time I come back home I am maha excited about the food that mom is going to make for me when I reach home… in my mind there is always a list of things ready that I want mom to cook and me hog them but most of all which I remember is that kadhi chawal that has almost become like a tradition for me… everytime I come home from the airport mom has steaming hot and spicy kadhi chawal ready for me and as soon as I enter home I start eating that ๐Ÿ™‚ aaah its bliss…. kadhi chawal are always the best then

Badi mummy and samosa-jalebi: and if anything can ever imagine to beat ma ke haath ka khaana its the one made by maa ki maa… naani or badi mummy as I used to call her… the aloo parathans she used to make… thin but full with stuffing, the keralas yumm… stuffed keralas… never eaten the way she used to cook them, even the simple dal tadka she used to make used to be heavenly… but if one has to ask the most loved food memory with badi mummy strangely its not associated with her cooked food… its of samosas and jalebis bought from the nearby shop… when I was very small we used to live very close to our nani’s house and I virtually used to live there, including us sisters and my uncle’s children we were about 5 kids and every evening badi mummy used to give us rs 2 to eat something and that used to be bliss… in summers they were often spent eating the thappa walla kulfi… do u guys remember it… and how crazy we used to be on how many kulfis we get and in the other times it always used to be samosas and jalebis… gosh I am addicted to those still… if I see a samosa my mind starts plottting how to get a jalebi ๐Ÿ˜€

Way to a man eerrr a woman’s heart is through food: now N always helps me in the kitchen… always but he is no great cook, his cooking is limited to making eggs, maggi and tea :D… and every sunday breakfast well almost his dedicated to eggs made by him but its one meal made by him which blew me away… It was the first time after marriage that I had gone to delhi aloneย  for a week or so and it was also the first time after marriage we were away for so long ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was supposed to come back by a flight which was landing at 8:30 pm and the low cost airlines had just started so there was no food served on the flight… before boarding the flight I was chatting with him saying ok though I dont feel like eating out we will step and eat somewhere near by and he told me ok what we’ll do is that we’ll dump the luggage home and then go eat… I sulked a little thinking… gosh who will feel like coming out again once I reach home but didnt want to fight ๐Ÿ˜‰ but when I reached home I was in for such a pleasant surprise… allo gobhi and dal tadka and chapathi’s too… ofcourse the kitchen was dirty like hell but food amazing….

Its all about food : About 3 years back we had gone to a Himalaya trip with a group of friends… friends that are a great group… the trip was fantastic and was full of food apart from the scenic beauty ๐Ÿ˜€ the first thing that comes to my mind when I think about that trip is food and tea ๐Ÿ˜€ but there are two particular meals probably I can never forget…. the first was the simplest of all meals we had at a small dhabha just when we started climbing after rishikesh… the most yummiest food I have had… dal tadka, karela fry and aalo jeera…. simple fresh and yummy… we all eat like pigs and the bill at a small roadside dhabha came to be some Rs 6000 ๐Ÿ™‚ and then we went to Auli… because it was not skiing season it was practically empty and there was just a small tent where the guy was selling maggi, omelletes and tea…. what a meal was that… nanda devi as a view, oak trees all around… as much place as u want to run, bright and nice sunny day and great group of friends and yes maggi and omellete too ๐Ÿ˜€

Jab beta khilaye tou dil bhar aaye: last but not the least and the most recent…. a couple of days back we had come back late from one of our usual delhi shopping trips ๐Ÿ˜‰ yes loads of it is happening and both me and mom were very tired so we decided to just order from outside…. we got some idli dosa’s and after I finished feeding Ojas I was so tired that I sat down on the floor and told him baby mumma very tired and what he did post that just brought tears to my eyes… he went to the table… picked up a idly kept in my plate… took the spoon from my hand and started feeding me… ๐Ÿ™‚ cut a piece of idly, dip it in sambhar and put it in my mouth and then take some more sambhar and put it in my mouth… just as I was feeding him…God bless u my darling

And then there are the numerous memories of chats at UPSC where we used to get down from the direct bus for the chat, mid might maggies and chiwda with my bestest friend S, the bhutta and the boiled spicy challi…. the endless chai and pakoras at the tapri outside the college… the gol gappa eating competitions….ย  the yummy yummy melting in mouth murgan idlies of chennai that I was crave for… hot chocolate fudge from nirulas (and yes nirulas makes it the best and not corner house ๐Ÿ™‚ )….the late night food in the RTO dhabha after the pub…. the mid night coffee at Taj…. life is all about food and its memories… so come tell me urs ๐Ÿ˜‰

Everyone who comes here should take the tag but there are some people I want to specifically hear the stories from… so here goes

Hitchy : because if a foodie wont have food tales who will, besides I love hearing about gujarti thalis and drooling

Solio : because we share the love for eggs and cocktails ๐Ÿ˜€

IHM : with two grown up kids I am sure she will have enough tales

Munchkin Mom’s : the person who bakes so well will surely have some tales to tell… (I know u are busy dear take ur time)

Swaram : think about food and go revive your food blog girl

Tara : the food pics she puts up are drool worthy now come tell us the story behind them