Tags

, , , , , ,


Now that I have come back from home I have yet another mom’s special with me… and this time its kadhi chawal…

I have already told you guys how much just how much I love the kadhi that mom makes and now here is the recipe… but I can bet you cant make it as well as she does πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

so drool first and then read he he

Ingredients

for the kadhi

  • Sour Curd – 3 cups
  • Gram flour/besan – 1 cup
  • 2-3 cloves
  • 3-4 peppercons
  • 1 badi elaichi
  • 1 tsp methi seeds
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds (sarsoon not rai)
  • 2-3 green chillies
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • salt and chilli powder to taste
  • 2 tsp oil
  • handful of coriander leaves to garnish

for the pakoras

  • 1 cup gram flour
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1/ cup chopped mix vegies (optional, traditionally they are made of just onions but me and mom both like to add a little bit of veggies to it)
  • 1/2 tsp dhaniya powder
  • 1 /2 tsp garam masala
  • salt and chilli powder to taste
  • oil for frying

Method

for the kadhi

  • beat the sour curd and the besan together, u can use a blender or mix them using the whipper
  • heat the oil and add mustard seeds
  • when they start to crackle add methi seeds and the rest of the sabut masalas
  • fry for about 2 minutes and when they start to brown add chilli powder and turmeric
  • add the sour curd and besan mixture and keep stirring for 5 mins
  • Let it simmer for about 30- 45 minutes stirring in between till it leaves a nice aroma
  • in the meanwhile get ur pakoras ready

for the pakoras

  • mix all the ingredients together and deep fry in hot oil

interestingly this is where I have found a way to keep this healthier and avoid the deep frying (that is all I can thing of these days, N is so scared that I will change the way all his favorite food look and taste πŸ˜› ) coming back to point… I make the batter a little thicker than normal and instead of deep frying them I fry them using a non stick paniyaram pan… uses much less oil…

  • Now add the pakoras to the kadhi simmer for about 2 mins
  • garnish with corriander leaves and serve with steamy hot rice

and did I tell u guys that one day old kadhi tastes absolutely yummilicous with hot paranthas… try it if u havent….

