This weekend being Children’s Day we wanted to buy a small gift for Ojas. We took him to lifestyle and let him pick the toy he wanted

I personally think that if u are going to buy a toy for the child its best that you buy what he likes… Now when I write this statement I know a lot of heads nodding saying yes but ever thought of happens next….

What if your male child wants to pick up a doll? or your daughter wants to pick up a gun? So how do u react in such situations?

Because this is what exactly happened on Sunday… in the whole store the only thing that Ojas was attracted to and could hold his attention for more than 2 mins was the Barbie cooking set πŸ˜€ and when I asked him what he wants to buy he told me cooking toys… So I bought it for him without even thinking once that I shouldnt have.

The problem started later when whoever I told this to reacted in a way that I found very surprising…. they laughed on it… ha ha ha boy will play with kitchen set???? my own mom even went to the extent of telling me thatΒ  you should have not bought it…

I have also observed that this problem is moreΒ  common when u have a son… (atleast in some area they are less partial to girls)… more eyebrows are raised when a boy buys a kitchen set or a doll than when a girl boys a gun or a car…

I have a huge problem with this kind of conditioning… this is what makes them grow up with a huge gender bias… If we tell them when they are kids that girls should play with dolls and kitchen sets and the boys with guns and cars and tools isnt it natural that they grow up with that bias? Why do we cringe some much if our child wants to be a different than what is conventionally right? This is what I always talk about as conditioning…

The conditioning of a child’s mind begins right when he/she is an infant and when they grow up we label them as MCP’ etc etc…

When they are young and what to make chapathis for you in their kitchen set we tell them that no boys dont do it and then when they grow up and ask for hot hot chapathis we complain

When they are young and they want to dress up their doll, we tell them that no let you sister do this and then when they grow up and dont pamper their wives we call them unloving and uncaring husbands

Me for one has decided that I am going to enjoy the tea that Ojas is making for me these days in his new toy cooking set and enjoy it as long as it lasts…

Its high time we changed with the modern times isnt it?