Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Everyone here knows how much I love baking and everyone here knows how calorie rich baking is and that I am trying to desperately lose some weight… As a result I am always always on the lookout for some healthy baking recipes. So when I stumbled upon this Savory Semolina Cake recipe I knew I had to try it out and I am so glad I did….

It was so nice, a little nutty and crispy from the outside and soft from inside… the taste was like a mix of dhokla and upma… both things the things that I really like…. It was just yum and its fully guilt free

Ingredients

  • 1 cup semolina/rava/sooji/cream of wheat [I used the fine variety a little roasted]
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I used the proboitic low fat one)
  • Salt, sugar (I skipped the sugar alltogether)
  • Turmeric a pinch
  • 1 tsp baking soda (I used baking powder)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Sesame seeds (for topping)
  • For Seasoning:
  • 1.5 Tbsp oil (I used 1 tsp)
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • ½ cup onion, finely chopped
  • ½ cup chopped coriander leaves (I added a handful of curry leaves too)
  • 1/3 cup shredded cabbage
  • 1 finely chopped green chillies ( I put 2 as ojas after taking out little batter out for ojas)
  • ½ tsp grated ginger
  • ½ cup shredded carrots (u can use whatever veggies u like or are available)

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 375 F and grease a baking pan (I used a loaf pan)
  • Take a large bowl and mix together the semolina, yogurt, salt, sugar until incorporated. Let it sit aside.
  • Heat the oil in a pan. Add the mustard seeds, onions, green chillies, ginger until the onions have sautéed. Add the carrot, coriander leaves, and cabbage and cook for a minute or two.
  • Add this to semolina mixture and mix well. Add little water if the mixture is thick.
  • Add in the baking soda; mix in pour the batter into the greased pan.
  • Garnish the top with sesame seeds and place it in the oven.
  • Bake for 35-40 minutes, or until a knife/toothpick inserted in the centre comes out clean.
  • Remove from the oven and allow to cool Slice into bits and serve as is or along with spicy chutney.

So come have a slice with me 🙂