Tags

,


When I read this tag at Shilpa’s I knew I had to do it…. love books, love tags and I havent done one for so long now, but I was confused which one to do the original one or her version. I finally decided to take the best from both and do it ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. Favorite childhood book? Anything by Enid Blyton. I used to love her than, love her now.
  2. What are you reading right now? I just finished reading Ripples, yes yes the one in which our friends Ritu and Tiku are authors and I am also rereading Shantaram
  3. Bad book habit? โ€“ Reading curled up in bed, the book at a very wrong angle and losing the bookmark in the quilt everytime and hence dogmarking the pages
  4. Do you have an e-reader? โ€“ Nope tried a friend’s kindle, loved the convience and the goodness it does to the enviroment but I think I love my paper and holding it and aaah the smell of a book
  5. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several atย once? Oh I am always reading multiple books at one time, but mostly because one of them is non fiction slow read kinds, the kind which requires lot of concentration which I cant have always… and also because like Meira I am too lazy to move between room’s to get books, so I keep one everywhere ๐Ÿ˜‰
  6. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Yes I think it has broadened it… I know of many authors now which I didnt know before… the reviews always help
  7. Least favorite book you read this year (so far)?Karl, Aaj aur Kal by Cyrus… the book was blah
  8. Favorite book youโ€™ve read this year? The Ramayana Series by Ashok K Banker… loved it and also Three Cups of Tea.
  9. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Not very often but I am not too stubborn on that
  10. What is your reading comfort zone? Fiction, Indian fiction, Comedies, Chicklits, Woman Tales
  11. Can you read on the bus? Bus I can read anywhere… I have actually read sitting on a bike too ๐Ÿ˜‰
  12. Favorite place to read? the bed curled up mostly but if u ask me where would I love to read it – either on a beach chair, a beer in hand and a guy doing foot massage ๐Ÿ˜‰ or sitting in a porch of a old small cottage tucked away in hills sipping hot hot ginger tea
  13. What is your policy on book lending? I hate to lend books (mostly because people dont bother to return them) and incase I do – No dog-earing, no writing and marking and yes PLEASE RETURN THEM ๐Ÿ™‚
  14. Do you ever dog-ear books? See my bad habits… I hate doing it though… and N reads only that way so we are constantly fighting
  15. Do you ever write in the margins of your books? No.
  16. Not even with text books? Havent read a text book in like ages… but I think I never wrote in them
  17. What is your favorite language to read in? Sadly english is the only language I can read in, I mean I can read hindi but have never ever read hindi literature ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
  18. What makes you love a book? Story, pace, characters, detailing, humor, editing, language
  19. What will inspire you to recommend a book? A good crisp story well written and well edited
  20. Favorite genre? Indian Literature its on its peak right now .
  21. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?) โ€“ Science fiction
  22. Favorite biography? Three Cups of Tea – does it qualify as one?
  23. Have you ever read a self-help book?What do you know, I have! Some of them can be good fun if they donโ€™t take themselves too seriously. If Eat, Pray, Love (Elizabeth Gilbert) can be classified as one, itโ€™s the best example of how they should be done. That was the answer that adarklife gave and I think its very well said. I have indeed read self help books comeon lets accept it who hasnt? but now I stay far away from them
  24. Most inspirational book youโ€™ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)? Three Cups of Tea and The Ramayan Series
  25. Favorite reading snack? I usually dont eat when I read my book can get dirty u see… unless I have to eat lunch/dinner and I just cant keep the book down
  26. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience โ€“ I think many but most recently DORK, I dont think the book was bad but the whole blog world was talking only about it when it came and when I read it I was well disaapointed
  27. How often do you agree with critics about a book? The only review I trust these days are my blog pals ๐Ÿ™‚
  28. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? Oh I am so bad at it… I usually just ingore them if they are bad
  29. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose? I would love to read urdu… some great literature is written in that language and yeah bengali too and pardes main I think french
  30. Most intimidating book youโ€™ve ever read? My Name is Red – i dont know why but I just couldnt understand the book
  31. Most intimidating book youโ€™re too nervous to begin? Not sure
  32. Favorite Poet? Not a poetry person at all
  33. Favorite fictional character? Sherlok Holmes love him… there would be many but he somehow always tops the list
  34. Favorite fictional villain? Ravaan, Ok I hope I dont began a debate here by saying this… fictional or not I think there is a lot to learn from him… what a character he is
  35. Books Iโ€™m most likely to bring on vacation? Chicklits…
  36. The longest Iโ€™ve gone without reading โ€“ Cant recall a long enough break to mention here… As far as I remember I have been reading something or the other… sometimes slow sometimes fast but always been reading
  37. Name a book that you could/would not finish– The Alchemy of Desire by Tarun Tejpal… dont know why but the book refused to draw myself in it, Have tried 3 times to finish it.
  38. What distracts you easily when youโ€™re reading? Aaah my brat ๐Ÿ™‚
  39. Favorite film adaptation of a novel? Godfather – I think by far the best book adaptation… I like Julie and Julia too and closer to home Omkara… I think Vishal Bhardwaj rocked the Othello
  40. Most disappointing film adaptation? Bride and Prejudice, Aisha… sigh the list is way too long
  41. The most money Iโ€™ve ever spent in the bookstore at one time? I think once I have spent 7K at a single visit but usually I try and keep it below 2K
  42. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Always… a book is always bought or picked up after reading a random page
  43. What would cause you to stop reading a book half-way through? I very very rarely leave the book halfway… even if it is horrible I have a problem leaving it
  44. Do you like to keep your books organized? Yes
  45. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once youโ€™ve read them? Always keep, my mom tells me to make a book rack which spans an entire wall ๐Ÿ™‚
  46. Are there any books youโ€™ve been avoiding? Papillon its lying on my bedside and I am wanting to read it but everyone says its depressing so I keep putting it off and yeah Suitable Boy I know I must read it but the thickness of the book sigh makes me run away from it everytime I look at it
  47. Name a book that made you angry โ€“ A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini actually even the kite runner, they are so depressing that they make u angry with the whole world… though I love them both
  48. A book you didnโ€™t expect to like but did? Ramayana by Ashok K Banker, yeah no kidding the book I have been going ga ga about, I was very apprehensive that will like mainly because I thought Ramayana is comparitevely boring and too preachy
  49. A book that you expected to like but didnโ€™t? The French Lover, I have read almost all Taslima’s books and I loved them… Lajja is in one of my fav books. So had picked up this book but great expectations but it failed all of them
  50. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading? Calvin and Hobbes and Sophie Kinesella

And that brings us to the end of the original tag and now starts Shilpa’s version

Books I love or โ€œthe ones I can read again and again and again andโ€ฆ..โ€

  • Pallace of Illusions : I love that book, the fact that the story of the great mahabharta has been told from the point of view of the most important lady of that tale, And I feel the book is deep and moving. There are a lot of layers and a lot of grasp in the book. I have read it twice and both the times there have been many things learned and I am sure I will read it again too
  • The Little Woman : Jo March I love her she is passionate, she is outspoken what is about her that one doesnt love. I first read this book when I was in college and I think I have read it 10 times after that. Its one of the books I hate to part with even if someone wants to borrow it for a couple of days
  • The Ramayan Series by Ashok K Banker: I finished reading the sixth and the final book in this series a couple of weeks back and already the first one is back on bedtable… I think this is one series that I would keep going back to all my life. There are so many of life’s fundas in the book explained in such simple ways. I loved the way Banker has brought the book to the people who would love to read it but cant really go and read it in the old format and also I love the fact that how really he hasnt treated Rama as all godly
  • One flew over the cuckoo’s Nest : I think this is one of the first books I put it up n favoruties list.. Read it first way back in school, I dont think I understood much of it than but there are many times I have gone back to the book post that. Brilliant brilliant read.
  • Catch – 22 : A book that hits the fact that war can never be good home with a bang and a book I think everyone should read. Its often that I pick it up and open any page and read it for some 10 minutes and keep it aside.

There are many many many more books I love but I think I will stop here for two reasons – I have spent way too much time on this post ๐Ÿ˜‰ and its way too long and also I should leave some for you my dear book loving friends ๐Ÿ˜€

But before closing I must mention Midnight Children here, I love that book and I think if there is any book which deserves booker of booker its it… Though I don’t think I will ever reread it, its too depressing for that but I love it

Books I love to hate:

  • Here I will stay with Shilpa, I love to hate the twilight series, I dont know why I read them like a crazy girl… Everything in the series is against what I stand for, female lead with no wish other than to please the man she loves thats it but I read it and I love to hate it… its like ekta kapoor serials if u ask me u love to hate them but still can’t fully ignore them

Books that left me underwhelmed:

  • The White Tiger : I think this one tops everyone’s lists ๐Ÿ™‚ the book stirred nothing in me.I thought it was just a very very bad potrayral of that poor driver
  • Beatrice and Vigilby Yann Martel : What was this book all about? what did he want to potray in this book? so much voilence against animals? left me totally clueless

And if I dont tag my fellow book lovers in this tag it wont be justice right ๐Ÿ™‚ so here it goes

Will link u guys soon in the meanwhile please pick it up if u see it

