Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I love arbi but used to stay away from it because

1. its full of carbs

2. its good when its made with lots of oil 😦

3. I cant just peeled it without having to itch my hands for the whole day afterwards

But all this atleast the last 2 parts were till sometime back when I discovered that we can grill this vegetable beautifully…. I used to boil it and then grill but then I read at some blog about steaming and grilling which seemed like an even healthier option

So now I have a much healthier version of arbi which satisfies health freak as well as the taste buds…. Iya the fellow arbi fan and Goofy as u had asked for it… this post is for both of u…. enjoy the arbi

Ingredients

  • Arbi(Colocasia) 500gms
  • Onion 1 medium sliced
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tbsp corrainder powder
  • 1 tsp tava fry masala
  • 1 tsp aamchor powder
  • 1 tsp chilli powder (or to taste as fiery as u want)
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp oil + oil to grease the baking tray

Method

  • Wash and roughly scrub the arbi (I have kept a scrotch brite seperately in the house for scrubbing potatoes and arbi etc)
  • Steam for about 6-8 minutes till a tender.  I have this microwave steamer at home which is so handy and convienent to steam stuff, its my all time fav cookware. U can use any steaming method u like
  • Let it cool and peel of the thick skin using a knife (surprinsgly doesnt itch so much after steaming)
  • Chop the bigger ones into 2 pieces and leave the smaller ones as it is.
  • Mix all the dry masalas,onions with arbi
  • Grease a tray and put the masalsa arbi in it
  • Grill at 200C for about 10 minutes or so, stirring once inbetween
  • In a small pan take 1 tsp of oil and add mustard seeds and fry till they start spluttering.
  • Pour over grilled arbi and mix well.
  • Garnish with chopped corainder leaves and serve with hot paranthas or phulkas…

