Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


Rains make me happy…

Rains sometimes make me sad too…

Rains make me nostalgic…

Rains make me musical…

Rains bring out the romantic in me like no other times…

Rains also bring out the foodie in me like no other times…

Rains makes me love the smells that are around…

Rains make me want to dance…

Rains make me want to love…

I love rains…

They make me myself….

So when I saw this post my Pixie, I couldn’t help but whisking it away πŸ˜‰

The earliest of my rain memory is not really a memory but a collection of the rain times when we were really small in school and if u were in Delhi than you would know that when it used to rain it use to rain like crazy… sometimes days all together… and we used to wait for that because that would mean no school and endless time making boats and letting them float in the endless water streams that would have come up in ever y corner…. because that would be mean the yummiest of pakoras and halwas made by granny… the freshly roasted bhutas but lots of lemon and masala we would eat…. endless getting wet in rain and then catching a cold and later in the night getting a scolding from mom along with the yummy besan seera served in bed to cure the cold… those were the days

We grew old, school turned into college and with that started our regular travel in DTC buses… gosh anyone in delhi would agree to how horrible they are… but ok I am digressing once again… so on the way from our college was a chat-wallah a very famous chat wallah… the one who sits outside UPSC… yes I see all delihities nodding here πŸ˜‰ so one afternoon it was raining and some 5 of us decided to get down from a direct bus to eat that chat… and there we stood getting drenched in rain and eating papdi-chat, gol-gappas and what not and then we decided to walk upto India Gate all the while getting wet in the rain…What fun was had and when we finished admiring India Gate and chatting we were so soaked that even auto wallah’s refused to take us home πŸ˜‰

Then when I went ahead to do my PG from a college in Ghaziabad, we were located outside the city and I used to daily up-down from delhi to Ghaziabad in those ALT buses… and then take those 8-wheeler fatfatatis if anyone knows what I am taking about and just when u were reaching the outskirts of the city was our college with nothing but a small shack selling tea, bread pakoras and samosas to us every hungry souls and like all shacks it had a tin roof… and every time I would rain our gang would bunk class and have tea and bread pakoras endlessly there… the soft splutter of the rain on tin would be visible… with a high tea we would keep on playing some stupid game or the other or just chat away… what fun college days are….

Phew I don’t know whether I should put this one up here, its a memory I have with ex but than just because they have become ex now doesn’t make the memory any less dearer isn’t it? or just because they have become an ex the memory doesn’t get wiped away from the brain… So the ex and me used to work in same office and one day he had brought his bike to work, and we were going back home together and it started raining most unexpectedly… and raining really heavy, we were drenched in like 2-3 minutes and then we took refuge in one road side dhabha and hot cup of steaming chai all the time lost in that butterflies in the stomach feeling… the feeling that only a person in love can understand, we were there in that place for abour 45 minutes till the rain slowed down, we drank some 4 cups of tea and by the time we went to pay the bill… the dhabha owner in very filmi style told us “are bachon sahi hai romance chalo rakho… tum logon ko dhekh ke hamein meri jawani yaad gayee… tumse main paise nahin loonga”… we had to really force him to take money for those cup of teas really…

And after some time I moved to blore and rains became a regular affair but still so dear… I remember me and N had just started going around and I was going to meet some of his friends for the first time and that evening it was raining really heavily just as it does in june-july in bangalore…. N had come to pick me up in his car but it was parked a little far away and I had just one umbrella at home… I still remember the way we walked together under one umbrella…N’s arm around me tightly to give me a hold and make me feel better… lovers under one umbrella is not over-rated trust me on that πŸ˜‰

Another rainy day which is going to stay with me for a long long time now is the wet sunday we had recently… introducing Ojas to paper boats was so much fun…

Gosh I have so many memories with rain I could go on and on and on… like the one with Iya recently where we had calcutta rolls in a rain, or with a friend P when we had ice cream in rain, or here when we had besan chillas on a lovely evening after rains… so what are your favorite rain memories? and did u notice that every memory of me has the mention of some food in it πŸ˜‰

PS: u need proof of my love on rains see I did a post on rain songs last time I did NaBloPoMo too… and search rain on my blog to see how many posts come up πŸ˜‰

