Tags

, , , , , , ,


What a way to do fusion I say…. I love olives and I love upma so when I saw this at Sanjeev kapoor’s I knew I had to try it 🙂

and it was yummy and very healthy.. Everyone at home enjoyed it quite a lot

Ingredients

  • Semolina (rawa/suji) – 1 cup
  • Tomatoes, chopped – 2 medium
  • Black olives, sliced (i used green) – 12
  • Yogurt – 1/2 cup
  • Olive oil – 1 tbsp (the recipe asked for 3 I made it 1)
  • Split black gram skinless (dhuli urad dal) – 1/2 tsp
  • Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  • Curry leaves – 5-6
  • Onion , chopped – 1 large
  • Carrot, grated – 1 large (my own addition)
  • Green chillies, slit – 2
  • Fresh coriander leaves, chopped – 3 tbspn

Method

  • Whisk yogurt with salt and two and half cups of water to make very thin buttermilk. Set aside.
  • .Heat olive oil in a kadai (wok), add split black gram and mustard seeds and fry for a minute
  • When the mustard seeds begin to splutter add curry leaves, onion, tomatoes, carrots and green chillies and sauté for a minute
  • Add rawa and continue to sauté on medium heat for four to five minutes till it is lightly coloured and fragrant.
  • Add buttermilk, bring to a boil, reduce heat and continue to cook uncovered, stirring continuously, till all the liquid is absorbed
  • Adjust seasoning, cover and cook further for two minutes on very low heat. Add olives and coriander leaves. Stir and cook for a minute. Serve hot.

And in a seperate news did I tell you I am most excited… I have signed up for a 6-week baking course 😀 😀 😀 from Institute of baking and caking art Bangalore… I am so excited that I all I can think of is when will Monday come… Its after a really long time I am going to take a class for learning something new wish me luck

