Tags

, , , ,


Yeah I made the yummy snack muruku first time in my life… thanks to Srivalli and Indian Cooking Challenge... and that too Sago muruku no less 😉 it was yummy and I think it came out decently well… though I was not very happy with the first one I made… the thick one in the photo below, the inside of it was not as crisp as it should have been. Then I changed the mold and made the thick sev like ones, they came out perfect. Wondering why? Anyone has a clue?

so here is the recipe I followed given by Srivalli… my comments as usual in blue 🙂

Sagu Biyyam Muruku / Sago Muruku
Ingredients

  • Rice Flour  2 cups
  • Besan flour  1/2 cup
  • Fried gram flour – 1/2 cup
  • Sago – 1/2 cup
  • Salt to taste
  • Curd – 50 gms (half of half cup) I used the store bought amul butter milk rather than making butter milk at home
  • Chilli powder – 1/2 tsp or as per taste

Special Utensil

Muruku Achu

Method

  • Soak Sago in Butter milk for 3 hrs, please ensure that you soak it enough else you may risk having the sago burst. (I soaked it overnight but somehow the stupid sago I had was not softening at all so I grinded it a little along with the butter milk)
  • Mix all the flour together, heat 50 gms oil (u know I forgot this 😦 may be that was the reason the thick ones were not as crisp?), mix to the flour along with salt and chili powder. Then add the buttermilk soaked sago slowly and knead to a chapati dough consistency
  • Heat oil for deep frying.In the muruku achu, add the dough. When the oil is hot, press down directly as as murukus. (I tried doing this though it was happening, I was feeling the direct oil heat too much to bear, so I made them on the polythene and then transferred them to the oil)
  • Cook on medium flame to ensure the muruku is cooked well.

Notes:

Ensure sago soaks in buttermilk well and is soft or else it will burst when you press it down in hot oil.
Cook on medium to ensure even cooking.
Fried Gram flour is fried channa dal that is available commercially. It is general sold as the dal, we have to powder it at home. This is also referred as chutney dal as it is used in making coconut chutney.

And they were enjoyed with tea for 2 days before they got fully over

This post is off to ICC and to drool over everyone else’s Muruku go here

