Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


I personally think (and its proven as well) that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. A good healthy and nutritious breakfast, half the problems are solved πŸ™‚ So this Friday let me focus on some yummy and nutritious breakfasts… yeah yeah u got it right, I am posting multiple recipes here. There are so many recipes I want to post and so little Fridays πŸ˜‰

Sprouts Dhokla

Sprouts is a food whose goodness has been emphasized on this blog too often πŸ˜‰ I love sprouts in any form and the fact that they are yummilicous too adds to it. Also sprouts have a distinct flavor that suddenly gives any dish a pep up. I saw this sprouts dhokla recipe in one of the magazines (I think Food lovers) long long back and since then I have been making this at home quite often. Easy, yummy, healthy and low cal…. Can we ask for anything else ?

Ingredients

  • 100 gm gram flour
  • 200 gm sprouted bean sprouts, pureed
  • 1 cup curd blended
  • 1 tsp green chilli paste
  • salt to taste
  • 1 tsp eno fruit salt
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric powder
  • 1 tsp oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • for the tempering
    • 1 tsp mustard seeds
    • 2 tsp oil
    • 3-4 green chillies slit vertically
    • coriander and curry leaves for garnish

Method

  • In a bowl mix gram flour, curd, pureed sprouts and water to form a smooth batter of thick consistency. Add salt, mix and set aside for 4 hours covered with a lid (I left it overnight)
  • Add the green chilli paste (the original recipe also asks for ginger paste which I skipped I really dont know why), turmeric to the batter and mix well
  • Keep the steamer or cooker ready on the burner and grease ur steaming dish (I have a lovely dhokla maker at home… basically its a stack of three steel plates which go in the cooker, just like idly plates… so helpful)
  • Mix eno, oil and lemon juice. Add the mixture to the batter and mix well
  • Pour in the steaming dish and steam for about 10-12 mins or till done. Cool completely before taking out and cut in big cubes
  • For the tempering, heat the oil in a small pan. Add mustard seeds, when they splutter add the curry leaves and green chillies.
  • Fry for a minute and pour over the dhokla, garnish with coriander and serve with green chutney

Green Oat Cakes

or in simple language pan fried oat cutlets πŸ˜‰

Oats is such a healthy grain. I simply love it (atleast in my mind I think I should love it πŸ˜‰ ) but none in my house even touches the oats porridge however tasty I make it by adding fruits, dry fruits, anything… everyone refuses to touch it. 😦 So I am on the constant lookout of Oats recipes… and when I stumbled upon this one yes yes Nita Mehta’s book again (gosh I have fallen in love with her… her recipes always always work) I was delighted… and when I made it the MNO household was delighted too… the servings for 4 was polished off by 2.5 of us in 10 minutes πŸ˜€

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats – roasted in a kadhai for 5 minutes on low heat till golden
  • 1/2 cup boiled peas
  • 1 cup chopped spinach
  • 1 green chilli – chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh coriander
  • 1 tsp finely chopped ginger
  • salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp lemon juic
  • 1 tsp oil

Method

  • Wash spinach and put in a kadhai. Cover and cook on low heat for 5 minutes
  • Add 1 green chilli and chopped corainder. Add the roasted oats and mix well
  • Put in a grinder and grind to a rough paste. Add all the other ingredients.
  • Add 4-4 tbsp of water to make the mixture bind together.
  • Add lemon juice to taste.
  • Divide into 8-10 balls depending on what size u want. Flatten them a little. Pan fry in a non-stick pan in 1 tsp oil till golden brown. Serve hot with ketchup and salad.

And while we are at oats one of my favorite breakfasts.. oats dosa or crepe whatever u want to call it πŸ˜‰

Oats Dosa

Ingredients

  • 1 cup oats
  • 1/4 semolina (sooji)
  • 1/4 cup wheat flour (atta)
  • 1/2 cup curd
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 green chilli chopped (or alternatively put a little red chilli powder)
  • 1 bunch methi leaves chopped ( u can use any other vegie also if u like)
  • handful of chopped coriander
  • salt to taste
  • oil/ghee/butter for making dosa

Method

  • Mix all the ingredients together and set aside for half an hour
  • Spread on the tava to make like dosa’s using oil, ghee, butter or if the non stick tava is nice than it will come with anything too
  • cook both sides till golden brown and serve with chutney’s of ur choice

So what tell me what are your favorite breakfast recipes?

And on a side note one item has been ticked in my wishlist… I got a Canon SX 200IS yesterday and I have been supremely happy till now… hopefully u guys will get better food pics now, from such a long time the only camera I had was my cellphone one….

