Tags

, , ,


Note : I had scheduled this post for 25th Dec Xmas before leaving for Pune… as I thought that would be a perfect day to post a plum cake recipe… Only thing I think I had scheduled it only in my head 😦 anyways here it is with the title changed from Merry Xmas to Plum Cake and the various wishes πŸ™‚

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup demera sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 4 tbsp rum
  • juice and zest of one orange
  • 3/4 cup ground almonds
  • 1 cup mix of walnuts and cashew chopped
  • 650 gm gms of dried fruits (I used raisins, dates, prunes)
  • 2 cups maida
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Method

  • Heat the over to 160 degrees
  • Beat the butter and sugar till light and fluffy
  • Add eggs and beat some more
  • Add the rum, orange juice and zest
  • Fold the almonds, cashew, walnut and the rest of the dry fruits in it
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking powder and fold this into the cake batter
  • Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour. Reduce the oven temperature to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) and continue to bake the cake for another 1 hour 30 minutes or until a long skewer inserted into the center of the cake comes out with just a few moist crumbs. enjoy!!! It was so yummy that it got over in a day and ojas digged in it too much too… I made one more for him with very very less rum

PS: original recipe from here which BTW is an excellent site for baking recipes… somethings I changed in the recipe are I used rum instead of brandy… I dont like brandy and neither does N… I also used demera sugar instead of light brown and dark which is mentioned

