Tags

, , , , , ,


I have been wanting to getΒ  a Bundt Tin like forever in my life… But when I would go to a shop and ask for it half of the people would look at me with a face which is a mix of shock, ignorance and disgust sigh, some will be polite to ask what it is and then I would have to have the task to explain them how does it look while they give me a what are u talking about look…….. and the few very few who will know what it is just wont have it… and inspite of this I would insist that they take down my name and number and call me back when they get it…

So imagine my state when last week I got a call from a store saying that they have got it… I couldn’t believe my luck, really couldn’t πŸ™‚ and without wasting any time rushed for the shop zest someone take away soon to be mine Bundt Tin πŸ˜€

And day before yesterday I baked my first bundt cake… there is something ceremonious about them isnt it πŸ™‚ I baked a simple marble cake… I personally thought the marble didnt come out very well inspite of the fact that I have made the marble cake with this recipe like umpteen number of times but the softness and the texture of the cake was brilliant… I will have to master the art of getting the marble right in the Bundt…

Anyways here is the recipe…

Ingredients

  • 300 gms flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 300 gms sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • 200 ml fresh cream
  • 6 eggs
  • 4 tbsp coca powder
  • 2 tbsp butter and a handful of powdered sugar for dusting the cake

Method

  • Divide the flour in two equal parts, to one part add 1.5 tsp baking powder and sift them together thrice and keep aside.
  • to the other flour add the coca powder, baking powder and sift thrice again… u can also add coffee to it… i usually skip it because ojas loves to eat cakes
  • Beat the eggs, sugar till fluffy and then slowly add cream to the mixture and beat some more
  • Divide the above mixture into two
  • And add one part to the above created and sieved flour mixtures… Add vanilla essence to the one which doesnt have the coca powder
  • mix both well to have a smooth batter… so now u have two batters for the marble to be created
  • Pour both the batters alternatively to achieve the marble effect….
  • Bake at 200 deg C for about 35 mins or till the knife comes out clean
  • when the cake is hot brush it with butter and sprinkle the powdered sugar on it

how about some tea and cake πŸ™‚

7th is ojas’s second birthday and this time I am thinking of being brave and making the cake for the party myself, only problem is that I am not too good with the icings… if any of u have a fool proof icing recipe, pls send to me… pretty urgent please as I want to give it one trail run before deciding on whether to order or make at home

