Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I love sandwiches, the very fact that you can make a sandwich as healthy or as sinful as you want :D.. Also you can eat them at any time of the time.. breakfast, snacks, dinner… Isn’t that versatile.

I am eating a lot of sandwiches for breakfast these days however I find very less recipes that can suit my requirements these days viz no cheese, no butter, no potatoes but still tasty πŸ™‚ A lot surfing, a little bit from this recipe, a lit bit from that and I have discovered my own set of such healthy and low cal sandwich recipes. Here are the two which are my favourite.

Avanti hopefully you can use them for your snacks too and Sols hope peanut likes them too.. Let me try and do some recipes that I make for Ojas next week :D, only point is that I will have to click pics

Green Peas and Roasted Tomato Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 4 slices of whole wheat/multigrain bread
  • 1 cup shelled and boiled peas
  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1 tomato
  • Green Chutney/ cheese spread
  • Grated cheese (optional)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1/2 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 flakes of garlic

Method

  • Mash the green peas coarsely by either a masher or in the mixer
  • Cut the onions and mix the masalas, green peas and onions together
  • Cut the tomatoes in round, place them on a microwave friendly plate and microwave on HIGH for abour 4 mins
  • Sprinkle the oregano and garlic flakes on top of the tomatoes
  • Put the microwave on convection/grill and roast for about 5 mins
  • Spread green chutney on one side of two slices, for kids or for those who like and can afford cheese use cheese spread πŸ™‚
  • Put a layer of green peas stuffing on the bread and put 2-3 roasted tomatoes on the top, u can also top it with grated cheese if u want
  • Grill it or roast it on the tava
  • Repeat with the other two slices

31072009

31072009(001)

PS: pls excuse the qaulity of the above pics… taken from N’s lousy cell camera πŸ™‚

Its an absolutely yummilicious sandwich and very healthy because of the nutrients used.

Dahi Walla Sandwich

Ingredients

  • 4 whole wheat/multigrain bread slices
  • 1 cup curd
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 carrot grated
  • 1/2 cup grated cabbage
  • 1/2 tsp red chilli flakes
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • pinch of nutmeg/cinnamon powder

Method

  • Hang the curd in a muslin cloth for about half an hour so that the whey drains out

DSC06047

  • Mix all the ingredients along with the curd drained of whey
  • Put some mixture into the slices and grill or roast on tava

DSC06049

DSC06050

DSC06050

I really love this sandwich, I used to love mayo based sandwich but since I cant have it now I found this closer and healthier option. Personally I think that curd is the best way to have milk based products. Extremely healthy, maximum amount of calcium and great bacteria for the stomach..

