Tags


Yesterday I was working from home and about lunch time I realized that there is nothing really left from the previous night so will have to think something about lunch…

I went to the kitchen and saw that mil had made toor dal but somehow didnt feel like eating dal-chawal, I looked around the kitchen, raided the fridge and then decided that there is nothing interesting that can be made quickly and hence grudgingly proceeded to make the standard tomato rice

Somewhere in the middle I lost my mind and started putting whatever I wanted to 🙂 and surprisingly the rice came out really well… hubby also liked it quite a bit and when he asked me what it is, I told him what I had done and I dont have any name and guess what he said… ask ur blogger friends, they’ll give it a name 😉

So folks, here’s the recipe and like those TV programmers its name the rec contest 🙂

Ingredients
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp urad dal
1 tsp channa dal
handful curry leaves
2 dry red chillies
2 slit green chillies
1 big onion chopped
2 medium tomatoes chopped
2 bowl cooked rice
1 tsp chopped jalapenos
1 tbsp vinegar
1 tsp mixed dried herbs (i used rosemary, oregano, basil and thyme)
1 tsp tabasco
1 tbsp tomato ketchup
2 tsp oil (i used refined but in retrospect olive oil would be better)

Method
Heat oil and add mustard seeds and let them splutter
add urad dal, channa dal, dry red chillies and curry leaves and fry for 2 mins
add onion and green chillies and fry till brown
(This is where I changed my mind)
Add mixed herbs and jalapenos and fry for 1 min
add the tomatoes and fry for 3-4 mins
all teh vinegar and all the sauces
fry for 4 mins
add the rice and fry for 3 mins on low flame

and enjoy the fusion dish 🙂 🙂

Give me a name guys….

