Tags

, ,


I finally got around watching Amu in the vacations that I had, actually I watched quite some movies…
Jaane Tu ya jaane na found it just ok inspite of all the hype sure it was an entertainer but could have been certainly better is what i think
The_Bridges of Madison County and found it extremely boring
Devil Wears Prada and that was a wow!!I had read the novel before and felt the movie stood upto it… Meryl Steep is just brilliant
and then the much talked about Ghajini too.. I thought it was ok… a bit too violent but not as bad as the reviews its getting, surely not a typical aamir khan movie but then he needs to make some masala movies too 🙂

But this post is about Amu

And what a movie that is… I have no words to explain how good it is…its a masterpiece…

For those who don’t know this is a movie based on Delhi 84 riots, To start with its unbelievable that a movie based on riots has so little violence (quite a contrast from Ghajini) and yet is able to convey the trauma of the people who went through it…

almost all the scenes in movie speak volumes… but there are some which are just not leaving me…

There is a scene in the movie where they show that couple of people quickly cut the hair of a surd and hide his head under a blanket and a south indian couple claims him to be their son… the feelings of everyone in this scene are outstanding… the sikh crying not to cut the hair, people trying to finish everything quickly, the wife and the daughter being hidden on the upper birth… speaks volume about what happened then…

then there is another one in which a lady is narrating how she tried to pass her little son as a girl but someone caught him opened his salwar and then killed him right there…

And then there are many more like this… Its a brilliant movie a must watch for everyone who hasnt seen it…

But I think to me it was also something that brought back so many memories of those days… I was all of 8 years then but it has left a big memory with me… I still remember the terror and the sadness all around me at that time… The house we used to live in had a shop run by a sikh on the outside and I still remember the way mom-dad and the landlords had to plead with those guys to not burn it as we were hindus… they agreed but on one condition they brought everything from the shop on the road and burnt it… burnt the daily bread-butter of the guy…

I still remember searching for a Tittu-Bhaiya whom we used to play a lot with for months afterward only knowing after a very long time that his whole family had been wiped off…

I still remember seeing so many people who had turbans before suddenly with hair cut and asking my mom that why has uncle done this… Mom had no answers but I got them in the course of time…

I still remember not being allowed to go out for playing for a very very long time…

The riots left a scar in my heart which will never be healed I guess… and I was just a child watching from the periphery, I dread to think of those who have suffered… God bless their soul and give courage to their families…

