Tags

,


Today is Blog Action Day and the topic this year is Poverty…. Got to know of this at itchingtowrite and then read brilliant posts at other blogs like phoenixritu, ihm and manpreet

So here is my bit to it… As long as I have remembered I have been wanting to adopt a child… a child who has been abandoned due to poverty may be and is growing up in a foster home… The current situations dont allow me to do that unfortunately… may be I will do it one day but till then I sponsor a child in Sos Village and also try and go and visit them once in a while and spend some time their…

Before Ojas happened I was also going regularly to one of the Govt Schools in blore every Saturday to teach them English and Computers… I know all this is like a spec in what is needed… but then boond boond se hi ghadha bartha hai…

Also today is Global Handwashing Day owing to my madness on washing hands I had to do a post today right 🙂 basically this a effort to promote hand hygiene… This is what it is in their words…

The practice of handwashing with soap tops the international hygiene agenda this year with the first-ever Global Handwashing Day, slated for Wednesday 15 October 2008. With 2008 as the UN International Year of Sanitation, the Global Handwashing Day will echo and reinforce its call for improved hygiene practices.

The agencies leading the Global Handwashing Day efforts are part of the Global PPPHW and include (but are not limited to) the Water and Sanitation Program (WSP/World Bank), UNICEF, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), USAID through the Hygiene Improvement Project (HIP), Procter and Gamble and Unilever.

The guiding vision of Global Handwashing Day is a local and global culture of handwashing with soap. Although people around the world wash their hands with water, very few wash their hands with soap at the critical occasions.

