Tags

,


Joy tagged me this one… actually this a tag that has been doing rounds since quite some time and I have been waiting for my chance to come 🙂 There are a lot of books I have read from the time I started reading when I was some 9 or 10… I hope I am am to do justice to this tag…

here is the list…


1. Calvin – I don’t think there is any other character in the history of literature that can make one laugh as much as Calvin and at the same time impart life’s profound philosophies…. If there is a literary character that is my top favorite it is Calvin… 🙂 I can read it anytime and any number of times… Thanks to Bill Watterson for creating him (and u know what I read the complete works of Calvin and Hobbes during the time I was carrying and my husband tells me that our life’s going to be a disaster because Ojas will behave like Calvin ;-))


2.Sherlock Holmes Sir Arthur Conan Doyle‘s creation is a all time favorite again… I own his complete works with illustrations and have read it multiple times… World’s most famous address i.e.221b Baker Street is in my list of must visit places before I die…

3. Sofia of Alice Walker’s The Color Purple for her sheer strength and rebellious character in those times


4.Marely of Marley and Me… agreed its a dog but a dog is a character too… and I simply adored him… I have always been a lab fan but after reading this my resolve to own one is even stronger…just waiting for my son to become 3… The book is about a real dog who is spoilt brat even called as world’s worst dog…. must read for anyone who loves dogs..

5.Atticus Finch of Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mocking Bird… I think its the warmest and best father I have come across any book till date

6.Hassan of Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner… Though Amir is the main protagonist of the book and the story is about him… but its Hassan who touched my heart more… I guess its because of his never ending loyalty, dedication and love


7. Heidi of Johanna Spyri’s Heidi for her innocence and her strength…

8.Pi Patel of Yann Martel’s Life of Pi… I really dont what it is that draws me towards this character but I loved the book and Pi was with me with quiet sometime after too….

9. Tai the boatman of Salman Rushdie’s Midnight Children for being the most insane yet the most sane… He makes one believe that indeed there is some amount of insanity in each one of us…

10.Agastya Sen of Upamanyu Chatterjee’s English Augustfor his laid back attitude, lies, late night running… everything that a good career boy and an IAS officer shouldnt be 🙂

Normally I dont pass tags… But this one is different. I would love to know as many more literary characters as possible… So I pass this tag to Mampi, phoenixritu, Avaran, whitemagpie, ~nm…. waiting to see everyone’s list

