Tags

, , ,


Its a strange and weird time when your childhood icons start passing away. Ghazal Maestro Jagjit Singh passed away day before yeseterday. For me an era ended with him, many many evenings were spent listening to his soulful healing music. Soaking myself into the lyrics that he brought life too. His was one of the music that I grew up on, its a music thats in my soul. Music that will last me a lifetime and in my memories and his music will live the maestro forever. Rest in Peace the ghazal maestro

Today as a dedication to him let me present to you the top 10 ghazals (actually the first ten may be) which are my favorite… ten on tuesday on wednesday anyone?

So the sake of situation lets start with a song which makes most sense here Jeewan kya hai chalta phirta ek khilona hai

And a song we all grew up a song that symbolises him, yes woh kagaz ki kashti yeh baarish ka paani

Next up a ghazal that has lovely nuinaces in it, kal chaudavi ki raat this shab bhar raha charcha tera

Next is a a ghazal which I love for the sheer magic of its lyrics,

Gulshan ki faqt katoon se nahin phoolon se bhi zeenat hoti hai., jeene ke liye is duniya main gham ki bhi zararoot hoti hai

No list about Jagjit Singh can be complete without mentioning the magic he did to Mirza Ghalib poetry… dil hi to hai, Hazaron Khwahishen Aisi

Can anyone forget the magic he created with Insight, specially with Garaj baras pyaasi dharti ko phir paani de maula

He also sang many geet/ghazals in Punjabi…  here is one that I love to listen too Saun da mahina

He also sang a lot of devotional songs.. here are two – a shabd (punjabi bhajan sang in gurudwara)

and the ever famous hey ram hey ram hey ram

And here’s ending with my most favorite Jagjit Singh ghazal, the one that never ever fails to evoke emotions, make me teary eyed… touch my heart somewhere… babul mora naihar chhooto jaye

So tell me whats your favorite

