Tags

, , , , , ,


These days Ojas is in love with anything which is baking… how much ever fussy eater he be if something has come out of the oven he eats it :D and hence I am constantly on the look out for healthy baking recipes. After I made the Oat Bran Muffins, I tried Apricot Orange cookies this time

I had seen this recipe in Tarla Dalal’s Growing Kids cook book (which BTW has great recipes) and made some minor changes to the recipe while making it. There were about 20 medium size cookies which came out and were over in a day :)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (I used atta)
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp soda-bi-carb (I skipped this and put more baking powder)
  • 2 tbsp dried chopped apricots (the recipe asks for 1.5 tbsp and also used kummani… I used the orange apricots and increased the quantity a little)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp chopped nuts (the original recipe asks for only cashwenuts but I used a mix of cashew, walnuts and almonds)
  • 2 tbsp orange flavored drink mix (I used Kissan sqaush)
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp butter for greasing

Method

  • Combine all the ingredients together in a bowl and whisk to get a soft dough
  • Mould into medium sized balls, flatten and make a cross sign on the top with a knifefri
  • Bake in a pre-heated oven at 160 C for 20 minutes or till the cookies are golden brown in colour
  • Enjoy warm or eat after cooling
  • Can be stored for a long time only if they last :D

I read about Cakes and Cookies Event at HomeCooked’s blog and that inspired me to send this post to the same event… This will be probably one of the first time I am sending a recipe to an event and ofcourse I am nervous ;-)

